top of page

Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award

Throughout its existence, the Cajal Club has promoted the cause of neuroanatomy and neuroanatomists. It has also recognized important contributions made by scientists from this field by inviting them to give lectures at banquets in the early days, and subsequently give the keynote address at our scientific meetings, the Pinckney J. Harman Memorial Lecture.

Since 1987, the Cajal Club has regularly awarded Krieg Cortical Kudos to senior and junior scientists in recognition of their research accomplishments in the field of the cerebral cortex under the auspices and generosity of a gift from Wendell and Roberta Krieg. In addition, the Cajal Club has awarded individuals on special occasions who have exhibited leadership in promoting the field of neuroscience or in supporting initiatives that have advanced neuroscience. For example, two awards were made in 2001 at the First International Meeting of the Cajal Club at the Cajal Institute in Madrid, Spain, where Constantino Sotelo and the King of Spain received the first Krieg Lifetime Achievement Awards. Others have been awarded at subsequent International Meetings.

Select Gallery of Awardees :

Cajal Club | Neuroscience | Portrait of Rita Levi Montalcini


Rita Levi-Montalcini

(1909 - 2012) In 1986 Levi-Montalcini was awarded a Nobel Prize with Stanley Cohen in Physiology or Medicine for their research in to the nerve growth factor (NGF), the protein that causes cell growth from stimulated nerve tissue. Levi-Montalcini founded the European Brain Research Institute in 2002.

She was awarded the Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award in 2009.

Photo of Rita Levi-Montalcini Lorem, photo public domain, credit unknown.


King Don Juan Carlos I of Spain

(1938 - present) When the monarchy was re-established, Juan Carlos Alfonso Víctor María reigned as the King of Spain from November 22, 1975 - June 19, 2014.

In 2001, he became the first recipient of the Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award.

King Don Juan Carlos I of Spain, Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5.

Cajal CLub-Juan_Carlos_I_of_Spain_2007-2.jpg
Cajal Club_Professor_Pasko_Rakic_ForMemRS.jpg


Pasko Rakic

(1933 - present) Pasko Rakic’s neuroscience research focuses on the development and evolution of the human brain. He was the founder and served as Chairman of the Department of Neurobiology at Yale University. He is also the founder and Director of the Kavli Institute for Neuroscience.

He received Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award from the Cajal Club in 2010.

Pasko Rakic, photo courtesy of Yale University School of Medicine.


Gordon Sheperd

(1933 - 2022) Gordon Sheperd was a professor of Neuroscience at Yale University’s School of Medicine. His neuroscience research was centered on basic experimental and computational research on how neurons are organized into microcircuits the facilitate functional operations of the nervous system. His research inquiries have ranged from molecular to behavioral.

The Cajal Club awarded him the Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016.

Gordon Sheperd, photo courtesy of Yale University School of Medicine.

Cajal Club_Gordon Sheperd_neuroscience.png

The following is a list of the Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award recipients:  



Charles E. Ribak


Carol A. Mason


Gordon Shepherd


Tomas Hokfelt


Paul Allen

Pasko Rakic


Rita Levi-Montalcini


Ricardo Miledi


Anders Bjorklund


Pablo Rudomin


Constantino Sotelo


King Don Juan Carlos I of Spain

bottom of page