top of page
Dawn Hunter Artist_Cajal Drawing.jpg


Proceedings Short Articles

Editor: Larry W. Swanson

Dawn Hunter Artist_Society of Neuroscience.jpg

Cajal Club, Society for Neuroscience 2023

Board of Directors Meeting |Cajal Club Social

The Cajal Club hosted its annual Board of Directors meeting, Business meeting, and Cajal Club social during the Society for Neuroscience's (SfN) Annual Meeting for the year 2023, held in Washington, D.C. The annual SfN conference is a cornerstone for over 25,000 international neuroscience professionals, and it underscores the SfN's commitment to promoting scientific exchange, career advancement, and networking within the global neuroscience community.

Featured in the photo are Cajal Club President, Leah Krubitzer, Cajal Club Secretary & Treasurer, Charles Ribak, and Heechul Jun, recipient of the Krieg Cortical Kudos Scholar award.

jun ribak and krubitzer KCK Scholar awardee.jpeg

The weekend's activities for the Cajal Club were initiated with the Officers and Board of Directors convening on Saturday morning, November 11th. The Club's Social marked the subsequent evening, a celebratory event recognizing exceptional neuroscience contributions. After time for socializing the event began with the Board, led by Larry Swanson, presenting Dr. Charles E. Ribak with a Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his exceptional dedication and contributions to the Cajal Club and its mission. As Professor Emeritus at the University of California Irvine's Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology, Dr. Ribak's extensive tenure at the Cajal Club, including President and 18 years as Secretary and Treasurer, has been illustrious. His research in epilepsy, neurogenesis, and neural circuitry has garnered prestigious accolades such as the Michael Prize in Epilepsy, the Klingenstein Fellowship in the Neurosciences, and the Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award, highlighting his impact on the field of neuroscience.

Krubitzer and Sousa KCK Explorer awardee.jpeg

Dr. Leah Krubitzer presented the Krieg Cortical Kudos Awards. The recipients, lauded for their groundbreaking work, included Elly Nedivi as Discoverer (the highest award), Andre Sousa as Explorer, and Heechul Jun as Scholar. In addition, the prestigious Brain Structure and Function Award was conferred upon the paper, "A hands-on tutorial on network and topological neuroscience," authored by Eduarda Gervini Zampieri Centeno et al., for outstanding contributions in neuroimaging.

Featured in the photo are Cajal Club President, Leah Krubitzer and André M. M. Sousa recipient of the Krieg Cortical Kudos Explorer award.

Dr. Suzana Herculano-Houzel, Board Member and editor of the Journal of Comparative Neurology, presented the Wiley-Blackwell Cowan Award to President-elect Paola Arlotta, who later led a session with the guest speaker, Alain Chedotal. The lecture focused on his innovative techniques in tissue-clearing methods, which have provided perspectives on the development and evolutionary trajectories of the nervous system.

The gathering drew to a close with a reception and dinner at the Jaleo Restaurant, providing a festive backdrop for the community to convene. It was an evening dedicated to celebrating the distinguished awardees, fostering camaraderie among attendees, and reflecting on the day's fruitful discussions.

Event image gallery highlights, to view full album, click here.

bottom of page